of Oklahoma sports lives here.

Class of 1990 Inductees


Barry Switzer

Induction Sponsored by Steve Owens and the University of Oklahoma Letterman's Club


Johnny Bench made his first major league appearance with the Cincinnati Reds on August 28, 1967. He was a 14-time All-Star in 17 years with the Reds, during which the team won two World Series, four pennants and six division titles. Bench caught in 1,739 games and caught 100 or more games for 13 consecutive seasons in Cincinnati. He appeared in 2,158 games, with 7,658 at bats, 2,048 hits, 389 home runs and 1,376 runs batted in. He posted a career batting average of .267. He was named 1968 National League Rookie of the Year, 1970 and 1972 Most Valuable Player and earned 10 Gold Gloves. He also won the Lou Gehrig Award (1975, the Babe Ruth Award (1976, the Hutch Award (1981) and was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame In 1989. 

Johnny Bench

Induction Sponsored by Dr. Jim Cheatham

Abe Lemons

Induction Sponsored by Oklahoma City University


Ed Gallagher

Induction Sponsored by Oklahoma State University


During his 16 years as head football coach at the University of Oklahoma, from 1973-1989, Barry Switzer compiled a career record of 157-29-4, a winning mark of .837. He won national championships in 1974, 1975 and 1985. The Sooners also won 12 Big Eight Conference championships and eight out of thirteen bowl games under Switzer. He produced 54 All-Americans and was the winningest active coach in college football when he retired in 1989. He became head coach of the Dallas Cowboys from 1994-1997, leading the Cowboys to a win in Super Bowl XXX against the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1995. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2002 and received the Jim Thorpe Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004. In 2015, he received the Contributions to College Football Award from the National College Football Awards Association.

In 34 seasons of coaching basketball, Abe Lemons compiled 599 victories and 343 losses. He spent 25 years as head coach at Oklahoma City University, his first stint from 1955-1973. He led OCU to a 309-181 record, two NIT berths and seven NCAA tournaments. From 1973-1976, Lemons coached Pan American University, and was named 1974-1975 Texas Coach of the Year. He coached at the University of Texas from 1976-1982, where he was named the 1978 National Coach of the Year. In his second term at OCU, the Chiefs went to the NAIA tournament once and the District IX playoffs four times. Known for his humor and wit, as well as, his coaching, he was named the 1987 Basketball Times Coach of the Year and received the Jim Thorpe Lifetime Achievement Award in 1989.

Ed Gallagher is known as the father of Oklahoma State University (OSU) wrestling. He became the director of physical education and wrestling at OSU in 1915. During his 23 years of coaching, Gallagher produced nineteen undefeated teams and posted an unparalleled dual meet record of 138-5-4. Prior to 1932, he claimed 68 consecutive victories. He coached in 13 NCAA tournaments and captured 11 national titles. In addition, he led his teams to six NAAU, four Missouri Valley and six Southwest Conference titles.