of Oklahoma sports lives here.

Dick Soergel was Oklahoma State University’s last three-sport letterman, starring in football, basketball and baseball from 1957-1960. He quarterbacked the 1958 OSU football team to an 8-3 record and a victory in the Blue Grass Bowl. Soergel pitched the 1959 OSU baseball team to a championship in the College World Series, and starred on the basketball team that made it to the 1958 NCAA Regional Finals. He was a two-time All-Big Eight and 1960 All-American in baseball and twice honorable mention All-Big Eight in football and basketball. He also made the Dean’s Honor Roll at OSU and Academic All-Conference in football and basketball.

Bill Connors, Jr.  was born July 31, 1931 in McAlester, Oklahoma, and graduated from Canadian Oklahoma High School where he was an All-Conference basketball player. He graduated from Oklahoma State University in 1953. His contributions to the Tulsa World and several other publications, even his own football preview, have given Bill Conners, Jr. the reputation of being a man of principle and integrity. He has earned several awards, including his 1997 induction into the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame. Connors began his career at the Tulsa World, doing undergraduate work as a correspondent in Stillwater. After brief stints as sports editor of the Stillwater News Press and sportswriter for the Daily Oklahoman, he permanently rejoined the Tulsa World in 1952. He produced the first edition of his Football Preview in 1958, and by 1959 was named the World's Executive Sports Editor. He earned the first of 11 Oklahoma Sportwriter of the Year awards in 1963. He was heavily involved in the coverage of OU and OSU athletics, often traveling with the teams on road games. Connors served as state chairman for the Heisman Trophy Selection Committee and wrote popular articles in publications such as Sports Illustrated, New York Times, Sports Magazine, College and Pro Football, Sporting News, Sports Almanac, Texas Football, Street and Smith's and Southern Living.

Gil Morgan

Induction Sponsored by Wewoka Chamber of Commerce, Oak Tree Golf Club, and

Mathis Brothers Furniture


Dr. Gilmer Bryan “Gil” Morgan became one of Oklahoma’s greatest golfers with more than $21,000,000 earned in prize money through 2008.   His first PGA title was at the 1977 B.C. Open, followed with wins at the 1978 Glen Campbell-L.A. Open and the World Series of Golf. In all, Dr. Morgan won seven titles and netted over five million dollars on the PGA tour. He joined the senior PGA Champions Tour in 1997 and was named “Rookie of the Year”. Through 2008, he won 25 events.  He holds a Doctor of Optometry Degree, earned before he turned pro in 1972, but has never practiced. A native of Wewoka, Oklahoma, and a graduate of East Central University, he was inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame in 1982.

An All-American quarterback for the University of Oklahoma in 1971, Jack Mildren pioneered the wishbone offense and set school records in his senior year for passing efficiency with a 209.9 rating, the quarterback season rushing record of 1,140 yards, and most career touchdown passes with 25. With the wishbone averaging 472.4 yards rushing per game, he led the Sooners to an 11-1 record, the lone lost to Nebraska in the 1971 “Game of the Century." He was named Academic All-American in 1971 and the Sugar Bowl MVP in 1972. He played defensive back in the NFL for three years with the Baltimore Colts. He was elected Lt. Governor of Oklahoma in 1990 and was inducted into the GTE Academic Hall of Fame in 1998.

Class of 1998 Inductees

Bill Connors

Induction Sponsored by INTEGRIS Jim Thorpe Rehabilitation

Jack Mildren

Induction Sponsored by Ada Chamber of Commerce



Dick Soergel

Induction Sponsored by the Oklahoma State University Department of Athletics