of Oklahoma sports lives here.

Dewey Selmon

Induction Sponsored by Jakie Sandefer


Perry Maxwell

Induction Sponsored by Orthopedic Solutions

Considered one of the dominant pitchers of his time, Ferguson Jenkins was a three-time MLB All-Star and was awarded the 1971 National League Cy Young Award winner.  He is one of four major league pitchers to ever record more than 3,000 strikeouts with fewer than 1,000 walks.  He served as pitching coach for the Oklahoma City 89ers, (1988-1989), and made his home in Guthrie, Oklahoma for 17 years. Jenkins was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1991 and had his number, 31, retired by the Chicago Cubs in 2009.  Jenkins was also instrumental in establishing the Oklahoma Sports Museum in Guthrie, Oklahoma.

Ferguson Jenkins

Induction Sponsored by the Texas Rangers Baseball Club

W. Lynne Draper is the founder of the Jim Thorpe Association (now Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame) and co-creator, along with talk show host Ed Sossen, of the Jim Thorpe Award. Draper was named as one of The Oklahoman's 100 greatest coaches and contributors. He served as the Executive Director and President of the Jim Thorpe Association from 1986 until 2011. The association has become nationally recognized for its awards and scholarship programs, broad range of youth programs and various charity events. Considered a visionary, Draper had contributed greatly to preserving Oklahoma's sports history.

Jesse Renick

Induction Sponsored by Phillips 66 and The Chickasaw Nation


Known as “the father of Oklahoma golf,” Perry Maxwell was involved with the original or complete redesign of 64 golf courses during his lifetime including 29 courses across Oklahoma.  Oklahoma courses include: Twin Hills, Bartlesville’s Hillcrest, Lawton Country Club, Oklahoma City’s Golf & Country Club and Tulsa’s Southern Hills, home to numerous PGA and USGA championship events.  Maxwell left his mark in 20 states and also notably designed The Colonial (Ft. Worth, Texas) and Prairie Dunes (Hutchinson, Kansas).

One of the three legendary Selmon brothers, Eufaula, Oklahoma native Dewey Selmon played linebacker for the University of Oklahoma.   A two-time All American (1974 & 1975), he was a key defensive figure on the 1974 & 1975 Sooner National Championship teams.  During those seasons, he registered triple figures in tackles, second only to his brother Lee Roy.  He went on to play for six seasons in the NFL, five with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Oklahoma State University basketball's first two-time All-American, Renick haled from Marrietta, Oklahoma. Considered as one of the offensive highlights of Coach Henry Iba's 1938-1939 team, he led the team in scoring with 179 points in 27 games. He finished his career at Oklahoma A&M with 403 points over 56 games. Renick competed in the 1948 Summer Olympics and became the second Native American, after Jim Thorpe, to win an Olympic Gold Medal.

Class of 2012 Inductees

Lynne Draper

Induction Sponsored by Steve Owens

The all-time winningest football coach in Oklahoma State University history, Pat Jones, spent thirty-seven years as a football coach, including ten years in the NFL.  While serving as head coach for the Cowboys from 1984-1994, Jones coached nine All-Americans and one Heisman Trophy winner (Barry Sanders, 1988).  He also coached the Big 8’s All-time leading passer (Mike Gundy), receiver (Hart Lee Dykes) and rusher (Thurman Thomas).  He was twice named Big 8 Coach of the Year (1984 & 1992).  He was named into the Gator Bowl Hall of Fame (2011) and Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame (2012).

Pat Jones

Induction Sponsored by Eskimo Joe's and Oklahoma State University Football