of Oklahoma sports lives here.

Mayor Mick Cornett focused on golf at Putnam City High School where he helped the Pirates win a state championship and earned All-State Honors in 1976.  At the University of Oklahoma he earned a Journalism Degree. He spent 18 years at KOCO-TV in Oklahoma City as a sportscaster, manager, news anchor and, eventually, city hall reporter. While a young sportscaster, Cornett recognized the need for an organization which would officially recognize the state's outstanding athletes and coaches. The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame was born with induction ceremonies by 1986. In December 2003 he abruptly halted his sports broadcasting career and announced he was running for Mayor of Oklahoma City. Best known for his leadership role in helping to bring the National Basketball Association to town, Mayor Cornett also guided the city to one of the nation’s top economies. In 2013, he was named the State of Oklahoma’s Mayor of the Year.  

Following an impressive rodeo career at Southeastern Oklahoma State University that included a 1975 Collegiate National Finals Rodeo Championship, Roy Cooper burst onto the professional roping scene in 1976 earning PRCA Rookie of the Year honors while winning the Calf Roping championship. In a professional career that has spanned five decades, Cooper has won eight individual world championships, including six tie-down roping titles and the 1983 Triple Crown of World Championships, one of only 10 men in pro-rodeo to ever do so, and one of only 3 to hold multiple Triple Crown titles. Cooper’s career includes a record 32 National Finals Rodeo qualifications; 19 qualifications in Calf Roping and 13 in Steer Roping.  Cooper owns eight National Finals Rodeo arena records and holds one of the fastest average times in history at the Steer Roping Finals. He was inducted into the hall of fame in 2014.

Leslie O'Neal

Induction Sponsored by David LeNorman


Darrell Porter

Induction Sponsored by Jerry Foshee, Attorney at Law

Mick Cornett

Induction Sponsored by The Naifeh Family and Prodigal, LLC

J.C. Watts

Induction Sponsored by Barry Switzer, Josh Brim and Pat Adams & the CLS Group

Gerald Tucker

Induction Sponsored by David LeNorman


J.C. Watts graduated from Eufaula High School in 1976 and attended the University of Oklahoma until his graduation in 1981. While at the University of Oklahoma on a football scholarship, J.C. earned a B.A. in journalism, and quarterbacked the Sooners, leading them to two consecutive Big Eight Championships and Orange Bowl victories. He was voted the Most Valuable Player in the 1980 and 1981 Orange Bowls. Following college, Watts was the starting quarterback for the Ottawa Rough Riders and Toronto Argonauts in the Canadian Football League. He was voted the Most Valuable Player of the 1981 Grey Cup, the CFL’s super bowl, his rookie season. In 1990, he was elected to the Oklahoma State Corporation Commission and became chairman, before running for Congress in 1994. Watts was elected to the U.S. Congress from the fourth district of Oklahoma in 1994. As a member of Congress, J.C. served for eight years on the House Armed Services Committee. He authored legislation to create and then he served on, the House Select Committee on Homeland Security. He also served on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, as well as the House Banking Committee. In addition he led two congressional trade missions to Africa.

Gerald Tucker was a two-time Helms Foundation basketball All-American at the University of Oklahoma in 1943 and 1947. Gerald was also named the National Player of the year in 1947. Following college, Tucker was an AAU All-American for the Bartlesville Phillips 66ers in 1949 and 1950. He coached the 66ers to the 1955 AAU National Championship. Gerald Tucker was also the head coach of the U.S. Men’s Olympic gold medal basketball team in 1956. He was named to the NCAA Final Four All-1940s team in 1989, and inducted into the Kansas Athletic Hall of Fame in 2010.

Roy Cooper

Induction Sponsored by John Massey

Darrell Porter was a high school standout in football and baseball. He was selected the best all-around athlete in Oklahoma in 1970. The same year Porter was drafted in the first round by the Milwaukee Brewers. Darrell spent 17 years in Major League Baseball playing catcher for the Milwaukee Brewers, Kansas City Royals, St. Louis Cardinals, and Texas Rangers. He was known for excellent defensive skills and clutch hitting earning the nickname “double-barrel Darrell.” Darrell played in 3 World Series, was named N.L.C.S and World Series MVP in 1982, and was a four-time All-Star. Darrell finished his career with 188 homeruns and a .247 batting average.

Leslie O’Neal was a two-time All-American at Oklahoma State University in 1984 and 1985, and finished as the runner-up for the1985 Lombardi Award as the nation’s top defensive player. Leslie was a Big Eight Defensive Player of the Year, 1985 and earned All-Big Eight honors three straight years. He finished his career at OSU fifth in all-time tackles with 351, including a tie for the 10th best season in Cowboy history with 134 tackles in 1984. Leslie was a first-round draft choice of the San Diego Chargers in 1986, and was named the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. In thirteen seasons in the NFL, O’Neal was a six time Pro Bowl selection, 3 time Second-team All-Pro selection. As defensive end, Leslie O'Neal became the Chargers' all-time sack leader with105.5, while recording 132.5 career sacks.

Class of 2014 Inductees